Managing Device Inventory and License
The Device page lists all devices currently found in the inventory or added to a network within the current organization. The Device page contains the following information about each device:
  • Type: type of the device.
  • Name: Device name.
  • Model: Model name of the device.
  • Serial Number: serial number of the device.
  • MAC: MAC address of the device.
  • Network: the network that the device has been added to.
  • License Status: Active, Inactive, Merging, expired, you can see the detailed explanation in the license section.
  • Expiration Date: The date that the license is expired
  • Register Time: time of the device's addition to the inventory.
  • Register by: user responsible for adding the device to the inventory.
On the top of the right corner, you could see below information
Earliest expired date on of devices on: This will display the earliest expired date of the devices in the organization to remind users to add license by then.
Expired devices: The number of expired devices in this organization. For example, If it’s AP, and since AP license mode is “Pro”, so those AP cannot be managed by Cloud and show off-line if in Network.
Expire within 30 days: The number of the devices will expire within 30 days in this organization. Furthermore, cloud will send you the notification when there are devices to be expired within 30 days and within 3 days.

Register a Device

Registering devices onto EnGenius Cloud inventory is easy. Enter devices by their serial number, one per line, and click the Register button.

Assigning Devices to a Network

This feature helps the users in assigning devices to a network.
  1. 1.
    Navigate to the Device page.
  2. 2.
    Select one or multiple devices as per your requirements.
3. Click Assign to Network.

Removing Devices from a Network

This feature allows for devices to be deleted in bulk from a network.
To delete devices using bulk delete:
  1. 1.
    Navigate to the device page.
  2. 2.
    Select one or multiple devices as per your requirements.
  3. 3.
    Click Remove from Network.

De-registering a Device from EnGenius Cloud

This feature allows you to remove registered devices from EnGenius Cloud inventory.
  1. 1.
    Navigate to the device page.
  2. 2.
    Select one or multiple devices as per your requirements.
  3. 3.
    Click De-Register Device.
If you de-register the device when the license status is active or merged, the license on the device will be deleted. As for status is merging, the license will be disassociated. This action cannot be undone and all records will be lost.

Replace the device

The device can be replaced with other devices for RMA/DoA purposes. This is the only way the license on the device can be transferred to other devices, so the replaced device’s license will be expired after you replace the device successfully and the new device will use the replaced device’s license.

Per-Device Licensing

The Per-Device licensing model allows users to assign a license directly to a specific device. There are two types of feature plans - BASIC and PRO. ( For details, click on "https://www.engenius.ai/cloud/licenses"). You need to buy the AP Pro license to associate with the AP to use the AP Pro feature set and so does Switch. You can navigate to the Organization > Inventory & License > license tab to access this page.

Feature plan

On the top of the page, you can switch the Feature plan per Device type.
For example, you need the PRO feature and there is a pro icon near the feature name. What you need to do in advance to use the PRO feature is below.
  1. 1.
    Purchase the AP/ SW PRO license to get the License Key
  2. 2.
    Add the License Key on the License page and associate the licenses to Devices (AP/SW)
  3. 3.
    Switch the AP/SW feature plan to PRO, so you can use this feature (https://www.engenius.ai/cloud/licenses ) => The AP/SW feature plan details.
Icon
Description
Device will use basic feature plan. No license is required
AP Professional Plan is required.
Switch Professional Plan is required.
  • Note 1: Under the"Pro" feature plan, all devices need to have valid licenses, otherwise the device will not be able to be managed by Cloud.

License status

Inactive: A license has not started to burn.
Active: The license starts to burn which means the license has started to tick and the time remaining starts to decrease.
Merging: There is a 7 days grace period for users to undo the license associated with a device, in case users place the license wrongly. Once “merged”, after 7 days or when the license is activated, the license is bundled with the device and cannot be removed. (the only way is “replacement”)
Expired: The license on the device is expired
Merged: When the license is associated with the device after 7 days grace period but hasn't been used (activated). For example, if a license is added to a device that has a license on it already, the newly-added license will become “merged” and the activation date will be the date after the previous license.
Canceled: When the license order is canceled, the license will be canceled, and the associated device's expired date will be deducted.

1 Year Free License

All existing devices and any newly registered devices will have 1 year free Pro license.
The activation date is the date the device is “registered” to the Org, and the expired date is after 1 year. If the user de-registered the device and register again, The cloud will keep the expired date.
Note: For purchased licenses associated with the device already, once the device is de-registered from the Organization, Cloud cannot associate the licenses with the device anymore, so if the device registers to Organization again, it’s like a brand new one without the license.

Add License

You can add the license key from the Organization > Inventory & License > License page.
After the “license key” is entered into the Cloud, it will extend to multiple units of “License”, all coming from the same “License Key” and showing the same “Issued date”

Auto Associate

When entering the license key, users can choose “Auto Associate” for Cloud to find a list of devices without license randomly for the license to auto-associate to.
If the license unit is more than the candidate devices, after the association, the left license will be put on the License page without association.
90 Days Force Activate for License Key
After 90 days the license key has been issued, if the license is not activated during the period, the licenses will be force-activated on the 91st day.

Associate to Device

This allows you to auto associate the licenses to devices. it is the same behavior that you click auto associate when you add a license.

Change Organization

In the license tab, only licenses that don't associate with any device ( association field is empty) can be moved to other organizations. (User needs to have Org Admin privilege of both organizations)
If users want to move the license already associated with the device, please go to the device page to move the device to other organizations.
If there are multiple licenses associated with the device, then all licenses will be moved to the new Org together with the device.

Assign License

Users can choose “1 year” or “3 years” and let Cloud choose any license whose issued date is earlier to associate to the device.

7 days grace period

There will be 7 days grace period after you assign a license to the device. in this period, you can change your mind to undo the license.

Undo

Only when in 7-days grace period, user can click undo to disassociate the license from the device.

Change log

This will record any changes on the license, so you could easily track them. You could navigate to Organization > Inventory & License > Change log tab to access this page.